No Retreat, No Surrender

Metal Ink’s New Year’s Sale is on for one more week! Get yourself some t-shirts for only $10-$11 before the sale ends 1/16/10! Visit our Shop section to see all sale items. Use code shop2010 at checkout to get your 40% discount!

Arts Devotion
68 N Venice Blvd
Venice, CA 90291
(323) 632-7145
http://artsdevotion.com

Adam Parrott, tattoo artist

Adam Parrott, tattoo artist

MI: Which do you prefer—graffiti art or street art?

Adam: It’s all the same.

MI: Was it the first art form you practiced, before tattooing?

Adam: Actually the guy who taught me how to do graffiti is the same guy who apprenticed me for tattooing. When I was a kid, I used to always draw skateboard graphics, all the Dogtown, Powell and Peralta stuff. And then in high school I had a friend who moved from California to Tennessee where I grew up, and he was a graffiti artist and he started showing me stuff and I just never stopped.

MI: So California has a monopoly on spray paint?

Adam: Eh, not necessarily.

MI: Okay, go on please.

Adam: After getting out of art school I couldn’t find a job for what I went to school for, graphic art. So I went back to Nashville and my friend who taught me graffiti convinced me to apprentice with him, so I did that for a year. Then I went back to Chicago and I was doing graphic design for a while.

MI: Were you making logos for corporations?

Adam: I was doing ads for liquor companies.

MI: Well that sounds fun!

Adam: It was fun for a little bit but it got old really fast because there’s only so much you can do with a liquor ad, I guess. After that, I was doing ads for the Chicago Sun Times and the Tribune and that was really boring. It was even worse.

MI: You don’t say. So what exactly did you do for them?

Adam: Car ads, you know on the back of the paper, there’s a page that has like 40 or 50 different cars on it. Well, someone has to design the entire page and match up the codes that go with the pictures, and they all have to go with the right price and description.

MI: Glad to hear you got some good use out of your degree. Tell us about how graffiti art influences your tattooing.

Chi-Town

Chi-Town

Adam: Doing graffiti taught me color theory and how to work with a given space. Sometimes you have a door on a wall you have to work around that. It was good prep for making stuff flow with the shape of the body and whatnot.

No Retreat, No Surrender

No Retreat, No Surrender

MI: Awesome, thanks for the fun interview and we hope to see your designs on the Metal Ink website soon!

One Response to “No Retreat, No Surrender”

  1. Nice stuff man

Leave a Reply

